Supplements for young children

I just thought of letting you guys know some ways that I have been using to boost children’s immunity systems. I have been doing this for the past few years and it’s not bad. Maybe via this thread, we can share our own experiences and methods too ^_^

iHerb.com is my bi-monthly supplement supplier. The goods come from USA but shipping is only $4 for a maximum weight of 6350 grams. I will simply buy enough stuff to make up the weightage and max out the shipping cost. I usually buy some cosmetics (brand E.L.F on iHerb is SO CHEAP), organic kids snacks and also my own supplements eg iron, b12, kelp, calcium etc.

Sometimes they have promotions eg free shipping for orders more than $40. So it’s very very good value. And supplements are cheaper if you buy from iHerb, especially the brands I buy i.e. Sambucol and Childlife!

1) Sambucol Elderberry Syrup

Elderberry Syrup is the main component. Sambucol is the brand name. My family and I usually take this whenever we feel weak/ tired/ sick. Once we feel like we are going to get hit with a bug, we will take this immediately 4x a day. The results are good – either we will be back to normal right away, or we will get well very quickly if we eventually succumb to the bug.

The bottle says that we can actually take this once a day for daily maintenance of the immune system, but I read somewhere that it’s better to just take it when we are going to be ill. Your call πŸ™‚

The link I provided for this is suitable for kids 4 years and above. There is another one which is suitable for 2 years and older, found here.

2) Childlife Colostrum Powder

Both my girls LOVE this. They eat this powder right off the spoon. Colostrum powder is reputed to boost immune system (provides a full spectrum of antibodies and immune factors) – I will give this to my girls every evening (half a teaspoon to my 9yo, and 1/4 teaspoon to my 2yo). And this brand has added probiotics too – helps them with their digestion.

I think I will stick to this – love seeing their faces when they are chewing on the powder and exclaiming “Mmmm, Yummy!” πŸ˜€

3) Thieves Essential Oil

I started giving this to my 9yo since last June. I remember clearly coz she was falling sick every 2-3 months before that and June was particularly bad! So it has been about a year already till now, and I have to say that the frequency of falling sick has decreased greatly. I basically put a drop on her soles every night, then she will rub her soles together and then I will put on socks for her – then she goes sleep. But I will let her go without the oil once a week, just to give a break.

I have also recently started to give my 2 yo Thieves too, whenever she goes for her Saturday music class. The kids in her class seem to be coughing and sneezing quite a lot (rolls eyes haha). So before we head out to the class, I will rub a drop on her collar so she can inhale it. Then when we get to class about 15 minutes later, I will rub another drop. It acts as a layer of protection over her. There was once I forgot to do it, the next day she started having runny nose 😦

4) Lemon Essential Oil

This is a great oil for the home – smells great and it also helps as an immunity booster. I put this oil most often, sometimes combining it with Lavender oil as Lavender helps sooths allergies (my 9yo has sinus and 2yo has sensitive skin).

5) Bi-weekly homemade chrysanthemum/ barley drink
This one – my mum will brew. Singapore weather so hot, body gets heaty and dehydrated easily. So this helps to ‘cool down’ the body and it’s a sweet treat for the family too.

These are simple ways to help our children fight germs and bugs better. I rather have them take these than to take medicine. Of course, having good nutrition is very important too!

Leave a Reply

