Focus = sanity

I just finished a 60 minute walk on the treadmill and I killed nearly 400 calories.

image

For the first time, I walked all the way, starting with a 8% inclined walk at 4.5km per hour.  Very manageable walk. After 20 min I increased the incline to 9%. Also okay. Then the remaining 20 min I was at 3% gradient but slightly faster speed at 5.5 km per hour.

I spent the first 30 min without music at all. Just letting my mind go blank. Anyway there was another lady in the gym with me. She must be wondering why I was just walking and not jogging. oh well.

After she left, I turned on some worship songs and continued to walk. It was a good time of just emptying my mind of the stress and focusing on the lyrics.

At the end of the 1 hour walk, I have these few thoughts that I would like to put on record:

1) I will start doing these 1 hour walks on every Sunday, Tuesday and Thursday nights. I won’t run, just walk. Walking is easy and allows me to focus on decluttering my mind. 60 min walk can clear 400 calories anyway – good enough.

2) Cast my burdens on Jesus, and focus on Him. It’s tiring having to carry burdens alone… Usually I will get my mental and emotional recharge during every Sunday service. But I have not been to church for the past few weeks due to CNY and elder girl falling sick. It’s no wonder I feel overwhelmed with worldly troubles.

If you aren’t a christian, you may not understand my 2nd point… I guess everyone has their way of recharging themselves. Some through exercise, some through smoking or drinking, some through listening to music. everyone’s way is different!

image

See you gym on Tuesday.

Leave a Reply

