Seasonal Tastes (The Westin Singapore) @ Asia Square Tower 2 (Food Review)

And the day of gluttony arrived. I didn’t have breakfast at all coz I kena period and was feeling bloated and fat.

By the way the pictures are not edited at all.. because I am sibei busy watching Moon that Embraces the Sun (Korean drama by Kim Soo Hyun & Han Ga-In) this whole weekend! I intend to finish it tonight!

So yes.. The pictures aren’t edited. :p

image

Lift lobby. We have to figure out where the lift button is first before anything else. Oh man. Torture for the hungry soul hah.

image

Hotel lobby. Contemporary futuristic look.

image

The other side of the hotel lobby.

image

Restaurant entrance!

image

Our empty table before we got the food haha. Oh by the way the Caucasian restaurant manager very handsome. 0_0 I wanted to sneak a picture while we were at the hostess table (he was there) but he moved too fast!

image

Yanxi and I wanted to snap pics of the spreads before we started eating but it was too crowded for us to take pictures comfortably… so we managed to take this. .

image

And this. The other stations were packed. We gave up. Eat first!!

image

The scallops were fantastic, so were the tandoori salmon and mandarin orange salad! There was no sashimi station,  sad..

The lamb on the left was tough.

image

Took lots of grilled vegetables that were very juicy. Roast beef was okay. Took more tandoori salmon coz it’s nice. Pork belly also not bad. If u realise I did not touch any grains at all.

BECAUSE…

I’ll be stuffing myself silly with grains at the dessert section.

image
Took some broccoli, some dried fruits and many of my favourite grapes.
image

I can safely say that all their desserts are FAB. Even the weird ones. Hui Mee did comment that the nonya kuehs she took were dry.. So don’t touch those. Get the ang moh desserts!! Tarts! Cakes! Macaroons!

image

Their ice cream seems homemade – i took avocado and raspberry. The avocado was unique, although a bit over-milky. The raspberry sorbet was too concentrated and the sweetness was overpowering.

image

After I was done gorging, I took a walk to the desserts section and took some pics. See how much I love their desserts.. ahaha.

image

These apple pies were labelled – dessert of the day. Hubby was the one who first introduced me the beauty of such desserts. Many years ago during one of our dinners, he ordered apple tart with vanilla ice cream and explained to me how complementary these two items were. The slight sourish taste of the apple tart make the whole dessert all the more sweeter. So now I love pastries with fruits on them 🙂

image

These were the giant strawberry tarts which I did not touch coz I had the mini ones.

image

I didn’t eat these as well – some chocolate crumble brownie.. Somehow the chocolate desserts did not appeal to me as much.

image

Cake of the day! It was a fruit cake with frosting – YUM. Simple cake but done very nicely 🙂

image

And our very first (and last hahaha) group picture of the department. This was my farewell lunch, and Yanxi’s welcome lunch. I must say everyone in this department are good lookers right! 🙂

Overall feel of the lunch: being a weekday lunch, there were many corporate lunches/ department lunches in bigger groups (like our group). There was no lack of food – they were constantly being filled up. Our glasses of water were filled up / plates also cleared promptly as well. The food was nicely spaced out, just that I thought there could be better lighting on the food. The cold food (tandoori salmon/ sushi etc) section was poorly lighted, a bit dark even.

The handsome restaurant manager was busy taking care of everything and was hands-on with even the simple stuff too. I also noticed a Caucasian chef bringing plates of food out too. I wonder what’s wrong with the f&b industry in Singapore – aren’t there any Singaporeans who are f&b staff??

Well, maybe I can understand. I also quit F&B years ago coz the pay sucks.

For $35 per pax, I think it’s not a bad deal, great quality and free eye candy! HEEHEE.

Leave a Reply

