Atrocious Service at Gain City Expo 2014

20131228-132633.jpg
Hubby and I went to Expo this morning for this sale as we wanted to get a 32″ TV for the room. When we reached there at about 1050am (the event opens at 11am), we were greeted by this enormously long human snake.

20131228-132823.jpg
The deals are really quite attractive, so far the cheapest amongst the other events opening today at other places. So we started queueing. At about 1230pm (after 1.5 hours), we were still queueing! By then the TV was all sold out, but we continued queueing cos we wanted to get the rest of the cheap items which were still available:
Induction cooker
Rice cooker x 2
Blender
Headset
Slow cooker

20131228-133046.jpg
I went in to take a look (hubby still in the queue) and realized that there was only ONE station serving this queue. My question is – WHY?? Gain City should be very clear and very experienced by now that there will be a long queue for such deals – why set up only ONE station to serve this queue? There can only be one reason – they want to let the crowd at expo see this queue so the crowd will be curious and go in see, hence possibility of higher sales.

Marketing gimmick at the expense of customer service.

Fine, we decided to queue, never mind lor, what to do right. As long as we get our items!

20131228-133440.jpg
It took us 2.5 hours to reach our turn. Hubby got out of the queue to take a look around. When approaching my turn, the guy asked me what I wanted. I had it all ready, so I showed him:

20131228-133546.jpg
Then he said “sorry, one person can only buy one item.”

I replied “my husband is with me (I even pointed out hubby to him. Hubby was just 2 meters away from me outside the Q). Can I buy two?”

He said “only people in the queue are counted.”

I said “he was with me for half the queue and jus went out!” In fact we were queuing together for nearly 90% of the whole damn queue!

He insisted “sorry, must be fair to the rest, only can buy one”. Oh so is it fair TO ME? Or to the rest of the unknowing customers who had no idea what was going to happen?

CAN U IMAGINE HOW FUMING MAD I WAS?? WE DID NOT QUEUE FOR 2.5 HOURS FOR JUST ONE ITEM!

AND WHY WASN’T IT INFORMED TO US EARLIER THAT ONLY PEOPLE IN THE Q ARE COUNTED?!

ITS NOT STATED ANYWHERE IN THE ADVERTISEMENT. OH UNDER “TERMS AND CONDITIONS APPLY?”

Seriously??

WHY WERE WE KEPT IN THE DARK?

WAS IT DONE ON PURPOSE?

WHY DOES IT FEEL LIKE SOME UNDERHAND CHEATING METHOD? GAIN CITY HAS GOT A WHOLE BUILDING AT SERANGOON NORTH AND THEY HAVE TO RESORT TO SUCH CHEAP METHODS??

AS A CUSTOMER, I AM SUPPOSED TO FEEL SATISFIED, NOT FEEL CHEATED! I FEEL LIKE I WAS BEING FOOLED LIKE AN IDIOT OK?

So I bought ONE rice cooker after a 2.5 hours grueling queue. I wanted to buy the coffee maker at the cashier but I was so dazed by the atrocious service that I forgot all about it. Fine by me, I’ve no intention to buy anything more from them anyway.

GAIN CITY, YOU HAVE LOST HUBBY AND ME AS CUSTOMERS. I WILL MAKE USE OF EVERY CHANCE TO SPREAD THE WORD OF MY BAD EXPERIENCE WITH YOU.

4 thoughts on “Atrocious Service at Gain City Expo 2014

Leave a Reply

